From A Stay-at-home


CB106670 

Many writers I know are packing their bags and checking their tickets.  Like pilgrims seeking knowledge of their faith, these writers are heading to their knowledge source.CB060002

This week the Romance Writers of America™ will be holding their annual conference in Washington, D.C. 

And I won’t be there. 😦

I know many of my colleagues will be and I intend to enjoy the conference and mine their new wisdom once they return.  On Saturday evening, the huge awards ceremony will be held.  This is the “Oscars” for our organization where the best of the best of published romance genre novels are awarded the Rita™ and the unpublished best are recognized with the Golden Heart™.

 Of course, I’m sending all my positive thoughts toward DC that my dear friend, Virginia McCullough will win the Golden Heart in her category.  If for no other reason, I wish I were there if/when she wins.  🙂 

But conferences are so incredibly energizing and draining at the same time.  Being around writers and industrial professionals for several days lifts writers who tend to be solitary individuals to a whole different world.  Everyone knows what we’re talking about and feeling.  They get it—since they have had the same feelings and experiences. 

I hope all the conference attendees get so much more from this conference than they hoped for.  May the workshops you attend inspire you and answer your questions.  May the networking you do lead you to new options for placing your work, using your talents, or promoting yourself and your work.

CB045645And finally, may your travels be safe and hassle-free.  Those of us not there with you physically will be with you all in spirit. 

Have a great conference.

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

6 Comments on “From A Stay-at-home”

  1. Deb Maher Says:

    Your pictures are quite appropriate, especially that very long hotel hallway. At last year’s National I often ducked out for fresh air and sunshine. Made a difference. Fresh air and comfortable shoes – two keys to enjoying a conference.

    I’ll be there to cheer on Virginia for both of us!

  2. Edie Says:

    I hope Deb can cheer for me, too. I won’t be going either. I wish everyone who is going a fab time!

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Here’s hoping, Edie, Deb and others will share the good times in D.C. Welcome to the stay-at-home-club. 🙂

    Mary Jo


  4. I’ll be sitting at home, too, slaving away at the computer. 🙂 Who am I trying to kid, I love sitting at my computer (most especially with the kids at their grandparents all week!). But, I will miss not seeing everyone at conference and the hustle and bustle. I’m hoping to make it to Nashville next year, and in the meantime, I’m going to take a look at Deb’s blog each day. 🙂 Have a great week!

  5. caseyclifford Says:

    Hey, Stacey, I’m sitting at that computer too and wishing I was with Deb. But I think we need to work toward going next year, along with Donna, right? 🙂


  6. Sounds good, Casey, as long as I can save enough $. 🙂


Leave a Reply

