Bits & Pieces


Iris Survivors

Iris Survivors

These past few days have been crazy and far from usual.  Thursday afternoon I was working in my office when we lost power.  Fortunately, I’d backed up a few moments prior to that. Maybe 10 minutes passed and the power came on.  I reset all the clocks etc and booted up my computer to start work again.

Maybe twenty minutes later, I’m well into my work and whammo, the power fades again and disappears for another 15 or 20 minutes.

 No, I don’t know why.  The skies were blue, the breeze gentle and no utility crews were working around here.  Weird…

 Later that night we got terrible storms, high winds, lots of lightning, and 3 inches of rain.  It stopped for  a few hours, long enough to clean up the debris and started in again.  Incredible lightening, huge hail, odd colored skies, and so much rain. At one point a weak tornado touched down about 10 miles away.  The winds took down power lines and many are still without power and have flooding issues to deal with.

Peaceful blue

Peaceful blue

 We are fortunate not to have any damage or serious flooding.  We’ll probably get a bumper crop of mosquitoes in a few days as water is standing in any low lying area and with the heat and humidity the storm left us, the puddles aren’t drying up fast.

But once again I can use my office and my computer without worry. I’m counting my blessings and feeling lucky to have to pick up only some small trees branches and bits of flowers ripped up by Mother Nature.

 Life contains surprises, just like a good book should.  I didn’t like having my routine broken these past two days, but it some ways it’s made life a bit more interesting.  Made me realize hidden elements about people I know just a bit or a lot.  This knowledge can also be useful in building characters for books or plots within those books.

Today is peaceful.  The sky is an incredible shade of deep blue.  A few puffy white clouds sometimes float by.  The lake is calm and a deeper blue than the sky.  Many boats, jet skies, kayakers and canoeists are enjoying the lake and the heat.  Once I have the patio back in order we plan to sit there and enjoy this first blast of summer.Peaceful Blues

 Sunday was Father’s Day.  A time for remembering our dads.  A time for remembering and honoring all dads.  To all those dads who are part of my life and memories of my past, thank you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Writing

2 Comments on “Bits & Pieces”

  1. Edie Says:

    I turned off my computer a few times last week because of storms. I was revising a hard copy of my wip, so it wasn’t that big of a deal.

    Great pics, as usual!

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Edie. Checked out your post on Magical Musings. I’m still inspired and hope your words of wisdom help me muddle through this lethargy I’m in.


Leave a Reply

