Women at Lunch


I want to lunch, too.

I want to lunch, too!

We’ve all heard and, maybe sometimes used, the stereotype, “ladies who lunch.”

The phrase conjures up a certain type of person.  However, I’ve lunched with many different groups of women and, believe me, the ONLY commonality is eating lunch.  Such fodder for thought and for story lines… I should do it more often!  🙂 

This past week I had lunch with a group of women I taught with for many years.  Most of us were in different departments but we shared enough values we became more than colleagues but also friends.  I haven’t seen these women for a few months, some even longer but the group was large that day. 

The conversation around the table was so interesting because each of them have been exploring new areas of their creativity and personhood.  The seeds of that exploration may have been planted much earlier for some.  For others, their interests were sublimated to the rigor of work and raising families.  A few discovered their interest and talent in an area has just emerged. 

Within our group that day we had swimmers, golfers, a painter, a singer, a writer, a photographer, a jewelry maker.  All use their experience and their free time to make the world around them more interesting and lovely. They do so much more than lunch. Imported Pictures 425

They are traveling far and wide and reading just as extensively.  Some garden.  Most exercise to keep their bodies as fit as possible.  They are an invigorating, dynamic group.  These women slaughter that opening stereotype with a smile. 

And a bonus?  Well, the three sitting around me offered several suggestions for plots for future books.  Brainstorming at lunch anyone?

Explore posts in the same categories: Character traits, Friendship, Writing

6 Comments on “Women at Lunch”

  1. Edie Says:

    I love brainstorming at lunch — or any other time. I’m hoping to get some in this coming weekend at the WisRWA conference. 🙂

  2. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Where is the picture of the boat and lake located? Great picture.

    It’s always amazing to me what women do once they aren’t working or raising children. I think it shows how talented women are once they get the time to do these creative things. Good topic!

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    Oh, yeah…we women are creative. It’s what keeps us young. Thanks for stopping by and admiring the photo. The lake shot is taken at my sister’s place ‘up nort’

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I’m hoping to do the same. I feel such a need to connect with my writing colleagues who each in their own unique way offer so much. Loved Liz’ post today on Magical Musings and your comments. But I haven’t had time to comment yet. Getting ready for the conference and waaayyyy behind…. 😦


  5. Great post, Casey. As far as I’m concerned, lunch — or even breakfast meetings with (writer) friends is a vital part of the creative process. 🙂


  6. Yes, brainstorming at any meal is the best! I do so enjoy lunch or dinner with friends–most especially when I don’t have to cook it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

