A long and winding path

A long and winding path

Thursday was a red-letter day for me.

 Why?

 I don’t have to return to the spine surgeon who did two major surgeries on my spine 19 months ago.  Recovery has been very slow and often frustrating.  When the bone grafts were not filling in to make my spine whole again and keep me stable, I was told to limit my physical activities even more than I was already.

 Early on the pain of recovery was awful but not as teeth grinding as prior to surgery.  Since pain meds make me violently ill, I refused them and kept busy.  I found having goals each day and each week and some significant projects kept me focused on issues that brought me satisfaction and helped me to ignore the pain and worry that all the surgery might have been in vain.

 Thursday was a day of many tests and that visit with the surgeon.  After reviewing all the tests, he grinned, something I had never seen him do. I was another success story for him, one he hadn’t been sure would happen.  Needless to say I was even happier. 🙂

 I can draw lessons from this event.  Persistence, determination, focusing on what I can change to deal with setbacks, and being patient with what I can’t exemplify these past two years.  Actually, I’ve used these skills in many areas of my life and have seen positive results.  However, it never hurts to have good lessons reinforced with current situations.

 My mother often told me when I was growing up that I had to learn patience. I hated the advice, but took her caution to heart. I certainly needed patience since my healing went so slowly and the simplest activities took longer than I thought they should. But I dug deep for patience during those months and focused on tasks I could get done. I accomplished them and I healed without worry or frustration.  And that damn need for patience gets reinforced, along with my mother’s long ago advice.

 So how does all this reflect on writing? 

Slow but determined finishes first

Slow but determined finishes first

 Those of you who write know those answers.  Persistence, perseverance, determination, focusing on the next project, being patient with what you can’t control.  Waiting…So much of writing is waiting…

 Driving home on Thursday I thought about the journey I’ve made as a writer from queries, submissions, finally a contract, edits, researching PR options, putting together bookmarks and ads, and waiting for that all important release date. I’m focusing on other projects, being patient, and striving for another book contract.  That’s what writers do.  They work hard, remain persistent in spite of great odds, stay patient, and KEEP ON WRITING.

 Here’s to success for all of us who practice persistence, patience and clear focus. In writing and in our daily lives.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life Skills, Uncategorized, Writing

2 Comments on “”

  1. Edie Says:

    Mary Jo, I’m so happy for you! This is wonderful news to hear on a Sunday morning. You inspire me.

    Above all with publishing, patience counts. It’s a waiting profession.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Eide,

    I can’t imagine why I inspire you. I just do what has to be done, just like you do, but you pack dynamite into that tiny frame of yours and whatever you do is fantastic.

    Thanks again for sharing a bit of Sunday with me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

