Sailboats, Weather & Wagons


We had a few days of spring weather here this past week.  Then Saturday morning the winds shifted to the north, and the temps dropped 40 degrees.sailboat-in-spring

 

I took this photo of one of the first sail boats out on the lake, scurrying back to the less choppy waters of the marina when the weather changed.  But seeing sailboats and sport fishing boats on the water once again lifts the spirit.  We don’t see those in the winter months.

 

Along with the drop in temps and the shift in wind came the rains.  Heavy rains and thunder and lightening storms.  I drove into church this morning and saw that all the normally tranquil, tiny creeks and streams that gurgle their way toward the lake are rushing rivers now, overflowing their banks, flooding fields, and making low spots in the roadways more like swimming pools.  I have noticed the migrating ducks seem quite content with all the additional water on which they can land. However, the mud-tethered tractors trapped in watery fields can’t make the farmers happy.

 

seawall-aprilThe grass has greened up before our eyes with all this rain and the early week warmer temps.  Wherever I look I see blossoming forsythia, magnolias, daffodils, crocus.  Probably in another week our ravine, with one of those gurgling brooks running through it, will be filled with trilliums, buttercups, violets and lilies of the valley. 

 

The resident fox family definitely weathered the winter and now has kits which have been spotted by some of our neighbors.

 

While a Wisconsin spring isn’t as beautiful as it is in other areas, nor does it last as long, it is a season that uplifts my soul. Spring makes me happy. My family, friends, and I have come through another winter, another year with all its trials, triumphs, grief and gladness.  If those foxes were Disney foxes, I bet they’d feel the same way.

 

I think all this living creates the uniqueness within each of us. Meeting life’s challenges gives us our wisdom and strength.  I’m sure that is why I’m drawn to take photos of old, well-worn, useful objects.  They’ve survived, weathered who knows what, have character.  I leave you with one of my favorites. old-wagon-at-mission

 

I took this photo on the grounds of a California coast mission, not one of the ones usually visited, so it wasn’t so prettied up.  I’d like to think this shot reflects me, battered, broken sometimes, but still inspiring to some.  I feel inspired every time I view it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Photos, Weather

5 Comments on “Sailboats, Weather & Wagons”

  1. edie17 Says:

    Great pictures! I like the worn ones, too. There’s a history behind the picture. A story.

    I miss walking my dog with the rain. She misses it more. My husband rode his bike to work on Thursday, which made him happy. He’s thinking he might have to get the lawnmower out next week. There’s always a price to pay for beauty. 😉

  2. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Hi, Loved the picture of the old wagon. You gave me that picture, and it hangs on the wall here for all to see. I do think old things and people have character and should be cherished.

  3. caseyclifford Says:

    Nancy,

    As you know, only my most favorite people get my photos to hang on their walls. Thanks for stopping in to chat.

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    Yes, we’ve had our share of rain and my puppy is fed up with inadequate potty conditions and she’s had it also.

    You’re absolutely right about old things having stories within them and I immediately let my mind wander what they might be when something grabs my eye and my need to take a photo. 🙂


  5. […] Sailboats, Weather & Wagons April 2009 4 comments 3 […]


Leave a Reply

