Inspiration on a Spring Day


Memorial garden with jonquils

Memorial garden with jonquils

Yesterday, I went to the Milwaukee area writers group meeting. Our state writer’s group, Wisconsin Romance Writers of America, runs the FAB 5 a writing contest every year for unpublished authors. One of the finalists this year, Betsy Norman, was at the meeting and it was so exciting to see her glow.

We also had an excellent speaker, Sandee Turriff, who talked about hypnosis and what it really is. In addition to being a published writer, Sandee is an RN and a clinical hypnotherapist. She explained away some of the myths and how understanding of hypnosis can help us in our daily lives as well as perhaps aid us be more accurate if we should use the concept in our writing. More than 24 hours later I’m still mulling over all Sandee explained.

While I’m not planning on using hypnosis for a book in the near future, who knows when such an item might become useful? I could even use it myself as she did discuss applying self hypnosis under certain conditions.

However, what I also found at the meeting and in the drive up and back were the inspirational seeds for this blog posting. Sandee explained that often can happen in driving or in listening to certain types of voices because our brains switch to a different mode (my interpretation, not hers). This mode allows our creativity to come out to play.

I’m not quite sure how playful that part of my brain was at the time, but I’m thinking about how interesting all the participants at the meeting were yesterday, each with their bits of news. Watching body language, (I’m reading a book on that right now) I also started thinking about new bits of behavior for future characters in my books. All this information is filed away and will emerge when I need it come my next writing project.

Yesterday was also a delightful day for a drive. Blue skies, 70 degree temps (those don’t come often in WI in April), greening fields, and budding trees. Farmers were in their fields, kids were outside playing soccer and baseball, Moms were walking babies, and anglers in waders were fishing in the streams. Just my smelling the air and seeing these signs of spring invigorated my creative muse. seawall-tulip-bed

Inspiration comes to us in many ways. We need only open our minds and let the world around us enter. Then we can do with those images whatever we want. We are writers.

Explore posts in the same categories: Photos, Writing, Writing Contests

4 Comments on “Inspiration on a Spring Day”

  1. Edie Says:

    Great pictures! I saw daffodils while walking the dog this morning, though it’s about 20 degrees colder than yesterday. 😦

    I loved Sandee’s presentation. It would be great if she did one next year at the conference in Madison. I’m going to put together a self-hypnosis tape for myself to use for writing.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I think Sandee would do a great job with a longer presentation also. We are on the same track. I’ve been thinking about making a tape also. I used to have one, but wore it out years ago. Too much stress in my life. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by on a chilly, rainy Sunday.

  3. Deb Maher Says:

    An interesting meeting! I wish I could have been there.

    When I was in high school, we had a session in health class that focused on rest and relaxation that I think had aspects of self-hypnosis. I’ve called on techniques learned in that course many times in my life – from childbirth to just getting to sleep at night. Sandee’s presentation sounds intriguing.

    Mary Jo, you’ve captured the essence of where a writer gets ideas. Everywhere! The more we get out to events, the more we listen and talk with people, the more we feed our creative energy.

    At a work-related secretarial conference last Thursday and Friday, I attended a session on internet safety. Wonderful presentation by a man who’d taught Middle School for 38 years (still sane, too!). In the middle of his presentation a whole new idea began to simmer in my mind, both plot and character. Heaven knows I don’t need any new projects just now, but I scribbled down some notes and filed them away. Ideas are everywhere!

    Thanks for another thought-provoking post. Have a good week!

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Thank you for the compliment. And for stopping by. I’d really like to have Sandee to a longer workshop for our conference next year, but I don’t know if she’d be willing. She is very dynamic as a speaker and has tons of knowledge


Leave a Reply

