When Writers Meet


j0341562Last week, I posted about the Iditarod and its solitary nature—a quality the race shares with writers.  While most writers enjoy that solitary time, we also love those times we find ourselves with other writers.

 

On Wednesday I drove 180 round trip miles—alone and thinking about writing projects.  My purpose for the trip?  To meet a writer friend.  The trip to my destination provided me few clues about my creativity. However, I saw 5 large hawks, several flocks of geese and ducks–all heading north, and livestock, mostly dairy cows and horses.

 

What a perfect day. 

 

The Wisconsin weather cooperated with gentle breezes, sunny skies, and 50 degree temps.  My friend and I meet at a Starbucks which wasn’t busy. After a hug, we got our coffee and settled at “our table for conversation about happenings in our writing lives.  She shared her joy at being a Golden Heart finalist. I shared my agitation about where I go from this current stage in my writing career.

 

We skipped to politics, health care, finances, religion, philosophy, family, friends and back to writing.  Then on to books we’ve read, movies we’ve seen, plots and story lines we are considering. And found ourselves back with the concerns we have with our current writing projects or issues.  During all this chat, we moved from Starbucks to a restaurant for a meal to fuel us for our long and solitary trips home.  Hers is about the same mileage as mine but in a different direction.

 

On my trip home, I pondered all we talked about as it related to my writing and where I want to go with it in the next few months.  What I decide to do will reflect on my family, my friends, and my own life.  Each writing project takes a different toll on me (I suspect this is true of many writers).  Each project imposes certain constraints on me also.  These elements must come into play when I make my decision (with some prodding from my creative muse) as to which project path I follow next. 

 

My writer friend—one I didn’t know five years ago but who’s become very important to me since then, helped me a great deal.  I hope I do the same for her.  When we both get our creative energy flowing from these times together, we anticipate and make sure our next “perfect day” happens.asiatic-lillies

 

My writing life has gifted me with meeting so many supportive, creative people. Some I “know” only in cyberspace from various writers’ loops.  Others I’ve actually met at conferences, retreats, and gatherings.  Yes, writing has its solitary times, a necessity to write. But our technological world has given writers the means to reach out and connect, and discover new friends we may have never encountered otherwise. We need these friends to keep ourselves sane and on track as we pursue writing goals.   

Explore posts in the same categories: Friendship, Photos, Writing

6 Comments on “When Writers Meet”

  1. Edie Says:

    Our meeting is next Saturday. I hope you can make it. I plan on going. I love seeing my writer friends, too.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    Edie,

    I’m planning on being at the meeting. I’m really interested in what Sandee will be speaking about. Hope to see you there. 🙂

    Happy Easter!

  3. Deb Maher Says:

    Mary Jo,

    What a wonderful post! How well I know the value of driving to those special meetings. They help replenish, and carry us through. I’m glad it was a good day for the two of you.

    The photos are lovely, both the Easter pictures, and the ones on your sidebar. 🙂 Congratulations!

    Have a Happy Easter!

    Deb

  4. caseyclifford Says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Deb, and for noticing the sidebar editions. Your directions were very helpful but I had some problems with the link issue which I’ll work on when I have more time.

    I guess this blog idea isn’t as productive as I hoped though I’ve done what you suggested in most cases.

    Happy Easter to you also.

  5. Nancy Kaye Says:

    Happy Easter! I thought your blog was great. I also liked the side bars. Have a fun day.

  6. caseyclifford Says:

    Hi, Nancy,

    Thanks for stopping by and for liking my additions to the side bars. 🙂

    Glad you liked the blog too, but then you are among my best supporters and I thank you.


Leave a Reply

