CB033386Yes, I have a fair amount of the Irish in my family heritage.  Since St. Patrick’s day is on Tuesday, March 17th  I’m pulling out the kettle to make the corned beef, cabbage, potatoes and carrots.  Those sons who live in town will be HUNGRY and I make that dinner only around this time.  Ups their anticipation.
J

 

Once we’re fed we must watch our favorite Irish movie, The Quiet Man.  Most of us have our favorite lines from that movie.  Mine comes from John Wayne’s character, Sean Thornton: “Some things a man doesn’t get over so easy.”  He’s referring to the first glimpse he got of Maureen O’Hara’s character.

 

Another is Sean’s also: “There’ll be no locks or bolts between us, Mary Kate—except for those in your own mercenary little heart.”  Few words, but they say scads more.

 

All the dialogue always has intrigued me. Much of the movie plot and characters is stereotyped.  But the love of those involved in the movie for the people, the land, the music, the characters flows through.  Here’s a link to the Quiet Man trailer.

 

Of course, we have other favorites also: The Secret of Roan Inish, The Waking of Ned Devine, My Left Foot, In America, and so many others.  That’s probably why we have to start our celebration early to get all those movies in.  J

 

 Of course, that day everyone is Irish, so my Austrian hubby tells me.  However, when people see me they often tell me I look Irish.  It’s probably the round face, blue-green eyes, dark hair and fair skin.  Maybe that’s also where my love of story-telling comes from.

 

When I write, I always have Celtic music playing.  Always.  It fires my creative juices.  I have my favorites and use their music at different times.  Celtic Women—I first learned of them during a PBS special. Their music is both haunting and thrilling, especially when the drummers get going.  Enya has been a favorite for years and Patrick Ball with his harp and James Galway with his flute.  The Irish Tenors have been favorites of my husband along with the Chieftains.

 

My most favorite and haunting Irish melody, The Women of Ireland, is more special since my son John loved it so much also.  I think of him each time I hear it. 

 

My Irish ancestors came from County Clare. One of my goals is to visit there before I die.  Everyone I know who’s been there says it’s magical.  When my ancestors came here to America, they came because their county wasn’t so magical but in the throes of a terrible famine and very hard times.  That’s often the reason many people leave their homes to find a better life.  That journey holds the stuff of wonderful stories and the Irish have told them well.  I feel lucky to have that special gene dwell in me.

 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all of you.

 irish-oreo

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays, Uncategorized, Writing

4 Comments on “”

  1. edie17 Says:

    Happy St. Pat’s to you, Mary Jo. My son is a redhead with green eyes, and he could be mistaken as Irish, though he’s not. My husband is a big John Wayne fan. He was watching a John Wayne movie this morning. I’m so glad I could hide away in the office.

    I love good dialogue. Read Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ latest, What I Did For Love. Her dialogue is witty and sharp, every word striking the right note.

  2. caseyclifford Says:

    SEP’s book is on my TBR list. If I never needed to sleep, I’d have the whole pile read by now. 🙂

    Red hair and green eyes. I’ve always wanted that combination. Alas, the red hair went to my great nephew. 🙂

  3. Donnell Says:

    Ah, Casey/MJ, your posts always have the ability to grab at my heartstrings. Must be the wee bit of Irish/Scottish blood in me. But I know exactly what I’m doing for a special treat for my DH on the 17th and can’t wait to watch the Quiet Man and when I do I’ll think of you and this post 🙂

    One of my favorite Irish sayings. May you be in Heaven half an hour before the Devil knows your dead.

    Happy St. Patty’s day to Casey and to her readers 😉


  4. Donnell,

    I check Five Scribes regularly but never will it accept my posts. After three tries I give up, but I still keep trying. You’ve had so many great ones and I get so much from them. 🙂

    When I was in choir we sang an Irish blessing which I also love: May the road rise to meet you. May the wind be at your back. May the sun shine gently on your fields. May the rain fall gently on your face. And until we meet again, may God hold you gently in His hand.

    That is my wish for you, and all my Irish, Irish-Scottish friends, and all other also. 🙂


Leave a Reply

