2009 Goals


I’m going to stick my neck out here and post my writing goals. I’ll choose 3.

Goal #1: Learn Word. I can admire Bill Gates but I hate Word. I use it only when forced to and every “new, improved version” appears more cumbersome to me. So accomplishing this goal will be my most difficult. However, I see this is what publishers and agents expect if you submit electronically. Expect me to bitch lots while I’m struggling with this learning curve. Bitching helps me get to understanding sometime. But I’m leery with believing that about Word.

And yes, I know, if I don’t have a positive mind-set, I make my task more difficult. So that’s a sub-goal which I’ll work on between now and January 5. And I’ve already purchased a book to help me (with useful cartoons to humor me) and located a couple of experts.

Hopefully, by 12/31/09, I will have this software under control.

Goal #2: Revise & query Seasons of Wine. I wrote this several years ago, polished it up and queried it. I even had some interest in it, but the market wasn’t right. Well, that market may still not be in the perfect spot, but it’s time to take this out, fluff it up, and query it again. It’s the kind of story that can fit these rough economic times when we might acknowledge things are bad, but we love to see the hero and heroine overcome bad situations and find real joy in themselves, family and simple things in life. Yes, got to get that going again, and convert it to Word to work in the polishing one more time.

Goal #3: Finish current Wise Woman novel. Yes, and work on this is Word also. I learned long ago that it’s easier to learn a new process if you are using the process in a constructive way. And you remember what you learn. So, my heroine Cassie has been languishing as I’ve been sidetracked with other important projects but I promise her in front of all of you that she will get finished this coming year. And polished up and sent out to query. Cassie deserves it and so does the next friend whose story I must write.

Oh, I have other goals, some are personal, some intellectual, some emotional. This is the time of year to set goals. I’ve always been a goal-oriented person, must be part of my Capricorn self, but this is a first for me, putting those goals OUT THERE! A real virgin experience–not easy at my age.

May all of you have all you wish for in 2009.

Happy New Year!

fullest-moon-1

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays, Life Skills, Photos, Uncategorized, Writing

5 Comments on “2009 Goals”

  1. edie17 Says:

    If you have any problems with Word, call or email me. I’ve been using it for a long time.

    I’m using 2003 and not the newest. Don’t know if the newest version is different, but we could try to figure it out.

    Happy New Year!


  2. Great goals, Casey! I feel you on Word. I had the 97-03 version down pat, then upgraded to 2007 and HATE it! It’s so much more difficult and cumbersome than the older version. Also, I would suggest when you save your files, do “save as” and choose the 97-03 Word document. Whenever I’ve saved as the 07 version, it never fails the person I’m submitting to doesn’t have the upgrade and can’t open the file.

    I hope your holiday season was great and that your 2009 is Awesome!! You deserve it. 🙂

  3. Sandy Says:

    Dear Casey/Mary Jo,

    I started out in Word, so haven’t had a problem with it, but I don’t think I have the latest version either. Grin. Who knows what problems I may have.

    Great goals, my dear.


  4. Hi Casey! Missed you at the Christmas party!

    I started out with WordPerfect, so I know how you feel. It was hell converting over to Word. But if I can do it, I promise, you can, too. *G*

    I have no doubt you’ll meet all of your goals!! 🙂

  5. Mary Jo Says:

    Thanks all of you for offering help with Word. I have the 2003 version and found a book which will be helpful, so I’m promised.

    And trust me on this–I will scream out for help more than once this year as I blunder through. You have NO idea how much I rely on reveal formatting in WP. I will miss it terribly.

    Hugs to you all! 🙂


Leave a Reply

