A Steamy Morning Moment


scan00021A few days ago a writer friend of mine ventured into the blogging ocean.

 

Her first post grabbed my attention. But then she’s a great writer, so how could her entry not?

 

Her post discussed those scenes we writers get in our heads.  The ones that won’t leave us alone.  We don’t know where they came from or what they are connected to but our muse that put the scenes in our minds keep nagging at us to do something with the idea.

 

So we mull the scene over and if we are lucky after some thought, time, and research we have the elements of a future project.

 

I’ve had those situations happen and I’m sure most of you have also.

 

Today I woke before sunrise.  All I had on my mind was what to do with my current project which I’m editing.  And that important cup of morning coffee. 

 

While I sipped my caffeine, I watched daylight break and I had one of those moments where a scene popped into my head for some future book.  What prompted the scene which had an eerie feel to it but wasn’t necessarily frightening?

 

I think it was the scene outside my window.  Our lake water is still far warmer than our frigid air.  This can cause steam to rise off the water.  The wintry sun reflecting off this steam was a magical sight.  Almost something from another realm.  And I saw in my mind a woman wrapped in the magical steam. 

 

What will I do with this?

 

I don’t know just yet.  But someday that scene will be in one of my books.

Explore posts in the same categories: Light bulb moments, Photos, Writing

4 Comments on “A Steamy Morning Moment”

  1. Deb Says:

    Mary Jo,
    What an intriguing scene, and a great picture too. I look forward to reading it when it finds its place.

  2. Mary Jo Says:

    Deb,

    Whatever I do with the scene, it will be much different from anything else I’ve ever written. Myabe the writing muses are trying to tell me something?! Or maybe I’ve slipped further into Alzheimers.

    Have a great week.


  3. I think each book has its own muse. They work at different speeds with different techniques that make the writing process as unique as each story. Or maybe that’s just my muse who likes to play dress-up and zoom around the world.

    I could get lost in that photograph.

  4. Mary Jo Says:

    Keziah,

    So glad the photography said something to you. Believe me, neither the photographer (me) nor my camera were able to truly capture the mystical quality of that morning.

    I also agree with you about our muse’s having their own timeline. One of the mus-have’s for us writers is to be so in tuned to our creativity that we can follow it as it leads.


Leave a Reply

