Passing the Baby


Last Thursday the US celebrated Thanksgiving.

For my siblings this was our first Thanksgiving, actually our first major holiday, since our mother’s death. It was also the first Thanksgiving one of us didn’t host the gathering. We’ve passed the torch. My nephew and his wife hosted ALL the family. We range in age now from 71 to 5 months. We are a large, gregarious group. We treasure the times we are together–a legacy Mom built for us.

I wondered as I prepared the dishes I would be taking how we all would feel and express the loss.

Mom was the rock in our family.

The “kids” did a great job. Their little ones made the day even more special. As I sat on the sofa holding the youngest one, she fell asleep in my arms. I missed Mom very much at that moment and I realized as I looked around at all the hustle and bustle going on with the females, and the football watching going with the guys, that another torch had been passed.

To me.

I was holding the baby and out of the kitchen. I remembered when I first started hosting Thanksgiving and my sons were babies. My grandmother was out of the kitchen and holding the baby. Then it was my mother’s turn.

Now it’s mine. To hold the babies.holding-baby

To be the oldest female in the family.

I hope I will be as wise and generous as the women who have held babies before me.

I think Mom would have been very pleased with us. We all gathered in the kitchen before we ate, a family tradition, and my nephew gave the blessing and a reminder that while we have suffered deep losses this year, we’ve much to be thankful for.

We are still together.

Remembering our good times.

Explore posts in the same categories: Holidays, Life Skills, Light bulb moments

2 Comments on “Passing the Baby”

  1. Deb Says:

    What a precious picture, Mary Jo! And what warm sentiments. Isn’t it amazing how these special events – holidays, weddings, christenings, and yes – even funerals – bind families together?

  2. Mary Jo Says:

    Thanks, Deb.

    Maybe someday, this concept will get woven into one of my Wise Women books. All of life is a writer’s playground, right?


Leave a Reply

