Let It Snow


Patio lite sno-cone

Patio lite sno-cone

Last winter we didn’t get much snow here in the southeastern corner of Wisconsin. So far this winter season has been pretty much one without much snow. Cold weather?

Yes.

Snow that needed a shovel instead of a broom?

Not so much. In fact not at all.

Until Thursday.

About mid morning I glanced out the window and what did I see?

Not rain, not sleet, not freezing snow. But really honest to goodness huge flakes of snow.

View from balcony

View from balcony

I turned away figuring this was a teaser and got back to my business of putting words on yet another page. About an hour later I looked out the window again to see snow, still those huge flakes, only this time I had a hunch they weren’t going to stop.

I was right. It snowed all day. It snowed all night. We lost power. Still not sure why but after a few hours the power came back on. In the time between we had the fireplace going and a glass of wine in hand.

So having a snow day had some advantages.

One was the white fairyland that looked so pristine. The trees had taken on a whole new look, cloaked in heavy layers of snow. Because of the rain and sleet that came before the snow started, the all day and night snow remained exactly where it fell. And as you know, trees, shrubs, and patio furnishings had taken on a new appearance too. All proved great for photo movements.

Frosted trees

Frosted trees

Also had some disadvantages since all that snow meant the shovel needed to get used. After all, my dear little dog, Oreo, needed a potty spot on that snow. One that wouldn’t swallow her.

I imagine I’ll have to shovel clear the storm sewer next because I just heard the weather forecast. We’re supposed to have much warmer temps today and if it rains all day and all this snow melts, well, I could have an ice rink outside my front door soon.

Hope you enjoy the photos, and if you’re in the Northeast and battling even more snow, be safe.

Snowy bench under birch

Snowy bench under birch

Snowy butterfly

Snowy butterfly

Explore posts in the same categories: Weather

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Let It Snow”


  1. WOW! We sit here and watch this storm on our t.v.’s and I can’t believe how it looks. Unimaginable to me since I’ve seen it snow once in my entire life and it sure wasn’t anywhere near where I live! Beautiful pictures, Casey. Thanks for my Sunday morning glimpse at what other people experience in the winter.
    Patti

  2. anne parent Says:

    I love your photos. I’ve so enjoyed the snow this week. This is something I will miss when we make the move to Tennessee. So, I will look forward to seeing the snow through your eyes in the future. Take care and be safe!

  3. Edie Ramer Says:

    It looked like a winter fairyland by us, too. My husband thinks the heavy snow and now the heavy rain will break a lot of branches. :( I’m glad it’s not snowing now, though. I have to get dog treats and cat food.


  4. Patti,

    This was a very pretty snowstorm but I suspect with the trees staying coated with the snow for so long we will see some damage come spring. And this storm was just the appetizer for what the Northeast got the next day. Crazy weather this winter. Now it’s raining on top of all the pretty snow. This is NOT pretty. :-(


  5. Anne,

    Depending on where you will be in Tennessee you could see snow and then that’s very bad because NOTHING happens. I suspect thought you will get tastes of snow with your grandchild in the north.


  6. Edie,

    I have the same thought as your hubby. We will see damage come spring. Doggy and kitty treats are important but be safe. Down here the roads are icing over.


  7. Looks like this is the year of the snow. Can’t do much about it but watch it fall then try to make your way through it if you have to!


  8. Lorna,

    You said,”Can’t do much about it but watch it fall then try to make your way through it if you have to!”

    Sort of like life, right? :-) Shovel on, dear lady…

  9. Sandy Says:

    Beautiful! We haven’t had beautiful snow like that for a long time.


  10. Casey, I love your photos … they almost make me miss winters in the NE … but not quite. I think I loved the snow in the middle of the night … or when the streets were quiet becaues everyone was snowed inside. I don’t miss blizzards and driving wind.

    The image you gave was, however, something I’d love … a cozy fire and a glass of wine … and I hope your beloved was by your side :)


  11. Florence,

    My beloved was by my side and all family members were accounted for and safe. So serenity reigned.

    Since I was doing a 40 hour day literally, I was able to appreciate the beauty as it grew. Only today with the rain have we lost the snowy frosting on the trees.

    And because of the rain, we have no beauty left with this snow–only a huge mess.

    Thanks for stopping by.


  12. Sandy, Very odd. I replied to your comment and I see it never showed up. Sorry.

    Today is nasty, Cold rain and dreary skies. Nothing uplifting or beautiful about it. A whole different world greeting us as we look outside.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

